Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Glasgow Warriors Triumph Against Vodacom Bulls


In a thrilling spectacle at Loftus Versfeld, the Glasgow Warriors were crowned the 2024 United Rugby Championship champions, staging an unforgettable comeback to defeat the Vodacom Bulls 21-16. The Scottish side, who came in as underdogs, defied expectations and clinched their second URC title in a match that left fans on the edge of their seats.

First-Half Drama: Bulls Dominate Early

The Bulls, fresh off a semifinal victory over Leinster, started strong. Within the first two minutes, Johan Goosen’s penalty put them on the scoreboard, followed by another successful kick. The home side extended their lead when Marco van Staden powered through for a try, converted by Goosen, making it 13-0. Glasgow's initial attempts to retaliate were thwarted, with Rory Darge's heroic defense holding up Wilco Louw just short of the line.

However, the tide began to turn as halftime approached. Scott Cummings scored a crucial try for Glasgow, converted by George Horne, narrowing the gap to 13-7.

Second-Half Surge: Glasgow Takes Control

The second half saw a resilient Glasgow team returning to the field. Despite a nervous start, they regrouped quickly. A penalty by Goosen momentarily extended the Bulls' lead to 16-7, but Glasgow struck back immediately. George Turner, playing his final game before moving to Japan, scored from a well-executed maul, and Horne's conversion brought them within two points.

Glasgow seized the momentum when Huw Jones finished off a brilliant team play, putting the Warriors ahead for the first time. Despite a disallowed try by Jack Dempsey due to a foul, Glasgow maintained their composure. A high tackle by Tom Jordan resulted in a yellow card, adding late drama as the Bulls sought to exploit their numerical advantage.

Final Moments: Warriors Hold Firm

In a tense finale, the Bulls pushed hard but were unable to break through Glasgow's staunch defense. The Warriors, playing at altitude and in front of a fervent Pretoria crowd, showcased their resilience and tactical acumen, securing a famous victory.

Man of the Match: Matt Fagerson

Matt Fagerson's outstanding performance, marked by 15 tackles and key offloads, earned him the Man of the Match honor. His relentless effort epitomized Glasgow’s tenacity throughout the game.

Post-Match Reactions: Bulls' Introspection

A dejected Jake White, coach of the Vodacom Bulls, reflected on the missed opportunity and vowed to return stronger. "We missed an opportunity tonight," White admitted, expressing his disappointment at losing another final. He emphasized the need for introspection and growth, acknowledging the experience and resilience of Glasgow's seasoned players.

Glasgow’s Rise: Coach Franco Smith’s Vision

Glasgow head coach Franco Smith praised his team’s execution and resilience, highlighting their strategic planning and mental toughness. "This team shouldn’t be done after tonight," Smith declared, looking forward to future successes. The victory marked a significant milestone for Glasgow, solidifying their status as a formidable force in the URC.

The Glasgow Warriors’ 21-16 victory over the Bulls in the URC final was a testament to their resilience, strategic brilliance, and unwavering spirit. Overcoming early setbacks and intense pressure, they emerged victorious, leaving a lasting impression on fans and setting a high standard for future competitions. The Bulls, despite their loss, demonstrated remarkable potential and commitment, promising an exciting future in the championship.

The scorers:

For Bulls:
Try: Van Staden
Con: Goosen
Pens: Goosen 3

For Glasgow Warriors:
Tries: Cummings, Turner, Jones
Cons: Horne 3

Yellow card: Tom Jordan (Glasgow Warriors, 77 – high tackle)


Bulls: 15 Devon Williams, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 David Kriel, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Cameron Hanekom, 7 Elrigh Louw, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje (captain), 4 Ruan Vermaak, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp.
Replacements: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Simpiwe Matanzima, 18 Francois Klopper, 19 Reinhardt Ludwig, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Zak Burger, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Cornel Smit.

Glasgow Warriors: 15 Josh McKay, 14 Sebastian Cancelliere, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Sione Tuipulotu, 11 Kyle Steyn (captain), 10 Tom Jordan, 9 George Horne, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Rory Darge, 6 Matt Fagerson, 5 Scott Cummings, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Johnny Matthews, 1 Jamie Bhatti.
Replacements: 16 George Turner, 17 Nathan McBeth, 18 Oli Kebble, 19 Max Williamson, 20 Euan Ferrie, 21 Henco Venter, 22 Jamie Dobie, 23 Duncan Weir.

Referee: Andrea Piardi (Italy)

[Submitted by Kevin Rademeyer]

Tags: None

About This Member

Kevin Rademeyer

This news item is from The USPA - US Press Association ©®