Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Proteas Squad Announced for Tests Against West Indies


Red-ball head coach Shukri Conrad has unveiled the 16-player squad set to take on the West Indies in a two-match Test series starting 07 August in Trinidad and Tobago.

Among the highlights is the maiden Test call-up for Dafabet Warriors batter Matthew Breetzke. Breetzke earned his place after a stellar domestic four-day season, amassing 322 runs at an average of 46, including a top score of 188. As captain of the Warriors, he also led South Africa A in a four-day match against India A in December.

Wicket-keeper batter Ryan Rickelton returns to the red-ball setup for the first time since the Proteas hosted the West Indies in March 2023. Meanwhile, all-rounder Marco Jansen has been rested for this series to allow for a conditioning period aimed at ensuring his optimal physical and mental well-being after a demanding season.

This Test series, part of the ICC World Test Championship, marks South Africa’s first return to the Caribbean since their 2-0 series win in June 2021.

Coach Conrad expressed his enthusiasm, stating, "We are excited to return to Test cricket after a busy period of limited-overs matches. This tour is crucial for us as we aim to improve our standing in the ICC World Test Championship. We've selected our strongest possible squad and look forward to strong performances in the Caribbean. Matthew Breetzke joins us after an excellent past season, and we've decided to rest Marco Jansen for his long-term well-being."

Half of the squad will attend a red-ball camp in Durban next week as part of their preparation.

Proteas Test Squad Against West Indies:

Temba Bavuma* (captain, DP World Lions)
David Bedingham (World Sports Betting Western Province)
Matthew Breetzke* (Dafabet Warriors)
Nandre Burger (World Sports Betting Western Province)
Gerald Coetzee (Momentum Multiply Titans)
Tony de Zorzi* (World Sports Betting Western Province)
Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins)
Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans)
Wiaan Mulder* (DP World Lions)
Lungi Ngidi* (Momentum Multiply Titans)
Dane Paterson* (World Sports Betting Western Province)
Dane Piedt (Knights)
Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions)
Tristan Stubbs* (Dafabet Warriors)
Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions)
Kyle Verreynne* (World Sports Betting Western Province)
*These players will attend a red-ball camp from 15 – 19 July in Durban.

The squad will assemble in Trinidad and Tobago on 27 July, with players participating in the Major League Cricket final on 28 July joining the squad on 29 July.

Tour Itinerary:

Warm-up Match:

31 July – 03 August at 10:00 local time
West Indies Invitational XI vs South Africa – Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad and Tobago
Test Series:

07 – 11 August at 10:00 local time
West Indies vs South Africa – Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad and Tobago

15 – 19 August at 10:00 local time
West Indies vs South Africa – Guyana National Stadium, Guyana
[Submitted by Kevin Rademeyer]

Tags: None

About This Member

Kevin Rademeyer

This news item is from The USPA - US Press Association ©®