Johannesburg: Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) National Selection Committee has today named Marco Jansen in the 15-man squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

The 22-year-old bowler replaces the injured Dwaine Pretorius after he was ruled out due to a fracture sustained to his left thumb during the recent T20 International series against India.

Momentum Multiply Titans paceman Lizaad Williams has been called up to replace Jansen amongst the travelling reserves.

South Africa squad - ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Australia 2022
Temba Bavuma (captain, DP World Lions), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Marco Jansen (Gbets Warriors), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje (Gbets Warriors), Wayne Parnell (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions), Rilee Rossouw (ITEC Knights), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tristan Stubbs (Gbets Warriors).

Travelling Reserves
Bjorn Fortuin (DP World Lions), Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins) and Lizaad Williams (Momentum Multiply Titans).

Picture: Sajjad HUSSAIN/AFP
Mark Boucher (Head Coach), Khomotso Volvo Masubelele (Team Manager), Charl Langeveldt (Bowling Coach), Justin Ontong (Fielding Coach), Justin Sammons (Batting Coach), Rivash Gobind (Performance Analyst), Craig Govender (Physiotherapist), Tumi Masekela (Strength and Conditioning Coach), Dr Hashendra Ramjee (Team Doctor), Lucy Davey (Media Manager), Kyle Botha (Masseur), Zunaid Wadee (Security).

South Africa Itinerary - ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Australia 2022 (all times local)

Warm-up matches
Monday, 17 October – 14:00 (06:00 SAST)
New Zealand v South Africa – Allan Border Field, Brisbane

Wednesday, 19 October – 18:00 (10:00 SAST)
Bangladesh v South Africa – Allan Border Field, Brisbane

Group Stage matches
Monday, 24 October – 19:00 (10:00 SAST)
South Africa vs Qualifier B1 - Bellerive Oval, Hobart

Thursday, 27 October – 14:00 (05:00 SAST)
South Africa vs Bangladesh – SCG, Sydney

Sunday, 30 October – 19:00 (13:00 SAST)
India vs South Africa – Perth Stadium, Perth

Thursday, 03 November – 19:00 (10:00 SAST)
Pakistan vs South Africa – SCG, Sydney

Sunday, 06 November – 10:30 (02:00 SAST)
South Africa vs Qualifier A2 – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide


First semi-final
Wednesday, 9 November – 19:00 (10:00 SAST)
TBD vs TBD – SCG, Sydney

Second semi-final
Thursday, 10 November – 18:30 (10:00 SAST)
TBD vs TBD Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Sunday, 13 November – 19:00 (10:00 SAST)
TBD vs TBD – MCG, Melbourne

[Submitted by Kevin Rademeyer]

Tags: Cricket

About the Author

Kevin Rademeyer

This news item is from The USPA - US Press Association ©®