Tuesday, March 21, 2023


JOHANNESBURG: Cricket South Africa (CSA) have today named the 16-player squad that will take on England in a three-match T20 International (T20I) series between 21 – 25 July.

The same group of players, with the exception of the uncapped Delmi Tucker, will feature for Team South Africa at the inaugural Women’s T20 competition at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham from 29 July – 07 August.

Momentum Proteas’ T20I Series vs England 16-player Squad:
Suné Luus (Captain) (Titans Ladies), Chloé Tryon (Vice-Captain) (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Anneke Bosch (Senwes Dragons), Trisha Chetty (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Nadine de Klerk (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Mignon du Preez (Titans Ladies), Lara Goodall (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Shabnim Ismail (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Sinalo Jafta (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Ayabonga Khaka (Imperial Lions), Masabata Klaas (Senwes Dragons), Nonkululeko Mlaba (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Tumi Sekhukhune (Imperial Lions), Delmi Tucker (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Six Gun Grill Western Province)

The well-balanced playing party will see the return of the experienced batter Mignon du Preez for the first time since her involvement in this year’s ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand. Du Preez makes her initial come back to the team following her retirement from the ODI and Test format.

The squad will continue to be led by all-rounder, Suné Luus in the absence of the team captain, Dané van Niekerk, who was unsuccessful in her bid to recover in time for the England T20Is and the Birmingham Games from an ankle fracture sustained earlier this year.

Ahead of the Commonwealth venture, where the side looks to repeat the gold medal feat achieved by the Men in Malaysia 1998, the Proteas Women will have the ideal preparation for the T20 tournament when they take on England in similar conditions they will encounter in Birmingham.

CSA Momentum Proteas Convenor of Selectors, Clinton du Preez said:

“With key players not available, we remain very excited to compete in the Commonwealth Games. Having Mignon du Preez adds experience to the squad and allows for some strategic changes in the batting line-up.

“It once again allows the opportunity for players to showcase their skills, as post the Games we prepare for the home T20 World Cup, and the team has the capabilities to finish within the medals,” the Convenor continued.

“We could not have asked for a better opportunity to prepare for these Games, with the tour of Ireland and also against England. It has allowed for much rotation and opportunities to players.

“We would like to take that momentum into the Games and have the players in a positive space as we compete,” he added.

CSA Director of Cricket (DoC), Enoch Nkwe, commented:

“Huge congratulations are in order for the 15 players selected to be a part of history in growing women’s cricket in South Africa and around the world as they embark on the first ever Women’s T20 Cricket tournament at next month’s Commonwealth Games,” said the DoC.

“The continuity in the group of players chosen not only displays the faith shown in the individual cricketers but is also indicative of the outstanding work invested by the coaching staff along with the selection panel in their planning for this momentous event on the cricketing calendar.

“I have no doubt that the Proteas team, under the tutelage of coach Hilton Moreeng and captain, Suné Luus, will leave it all out on the field in an effort to make the entire South African population beam with pride while following their progression at the Games,” he added.

Audio of Momentum Proteas Convenor of Selectors, Clinton du Preez can be located here

T20I Series vs England –

Thursday, 21 July @ 19h00 local time – 1st T20 – England vs South Africa (The Cloudfm County Ground, Chelmsford)
Saturday, 23 July @ 14h30 local time – 2nd T20 – England vs South Africa (Blackfinch New Road, Worcester)
Monday, 25 July @ 18h30 local time – 3rd T20 – England vs South Africa (The Incora County Ground, Derby)

South Africa’s 2022 Commonwealth Games T20 Cricket Fixtures –

Saturday, 30 July @ 11h00 local time – New Zealand vs South Africa
Tuesday, 02 August @ 11h00 local time – England vs South Africa
Thursday, 04 August @ 11h00 local time – South Africa vs Ireland

Saturday, 06 August @ 11h00 local time – Semi-final 1
Saturday, 06 August @ 18h00 local time – Semi-final 2

Sunday, 07 August @ 10h00 local time – Bronze Medal
Sunday, 07 August @ 17h00 local time – Gold Medal

[Submitted by Kevin Rademeyer]
Tags: cricket

About the Author

Kevin Rademeyer
Username or Email:


[ ]


AEB7054D CED0 440A A4C3 F41A9964D04B

Untitled Design

Membership Comparison

Comparison 1

See Details Here

Search The USPA - US Press Association ©®

Join Us

Save Up To 50% On Renewal

Members can save up to 50%

on membership renewals simply

by sharing your news, photos, videos.

For each post that you share on the 

US Press Association website within

the current membership period,

you will receive 5% off of your renewal

up to 50% off any membership packet.




JOHANNESBURG: Temba Bavuma produced his best century for the Proteas to ensure they went to stumps on day three of the second Betway Test against West Indies in the pound seat at the DP World Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on Friday.

Read more..


JOHANNESBURG: Half-centuries by Aiden Markram and Tony de Zorzi handed the Proteas the edge after opening day of the second Betway Test against West Indies at DP World Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on Wednesday.

Read more..


Ronan Keating has been back in South Africa over the past week to contribute to charitable causes, in conjunction with Citadel as well as to perform in Cape Town and Pretoria.

Read more..

     The US Press Association Press Pass & Credentials - The Standard For New Media Freelancers And Professionals